Gardening · General · wildlife

First Official Bee Sighting!

Today, 24th March 2017, is my first confirmed sighting of a bee in my garden.

The vid is a bit blurry because the wind was blowing and so the camera wouldn’t focus on anything at all! For confirmation, the bee was a Tree bumblebee (Bombus hypnorum) and she was visiting the narcissus tete-a-tete in the pot.

I did try to follow it to see if there was a local nest but I lost it in one of Euonymus bushes, oh well. I did stick around the bush to see if there was a nest in there but I couldn’t hear any buzzing so, not wanting to disturb a nest if there was one, after a couple of minutes I left.

I am so happy to finally see a bee in the garden. What with all the plants blooming and no pollinators out and about to be seen, I was getting a little worried.

12 thoughts on “First Official Bee Sighting!

  1. It’s great to have the bumbles back, isn’t it? And we’ll done for getting a shot. I didn’t manage to get one of the bumblebee I saw today in my garden (I figured it would be too late to go back inside to get my phone).

    1. Not that I know of. But then I have been unsubbed to a couple of other blogs the last couple of weeks, too.

      I can’t explain it…

      Welcome back though! I’ll put the kettle on. B-)

            1. Some of them couldn’t hit the broad side of a barn with an elephant.
              In their defence they were having their minds manipulated by Palpy… So you really have to forgive them for that.

Leave a Reply

