Gardening · GYO · Pond

Setting Up The Aquaponics

Yesterday, I posted a Wordless Wednesday that showed how I had battered my grass in obvious tracks. One path was to the bird feeder and the other was to the pond. The reason for the latter is that I have been doing a lot of work on the pond this winter, what with it having a leak but also because of my latest project.

Late last year I did a post about getting rid of my pond in a pot and looking to having a go at a bit of very basic aquaponics. Well, over the past couple of days I have been sorting out the area by my pond and putting together the frame that the aquaponic setup will sit on.

I started with making a simple stepped frame with odd wood scraps I had. Yeah, this isn’t going to win any awards bar possibly something from the Tate!
I thought I had taken some photos as I was putting it together, but either I accidentally deleted them or I didn’t actually take them in the first place! >.<

After making the frame I put in the slats on and took it outside.

It’s stood on bricks so that, because it is gravity fed, the flow of water from the top would still have a drop to get from the bottom planter into the proper filter before flowing back into the pond to cycle again.
Maybe in time I could perhaps reduce the size of the big filter somewhat and rely more on the aquaponics to clean the pond water.

And this is what it will look like. Here it is face on.

At the moment it isn’t running, there is no pipe work running from planter to planter, I’ll get that when I get some more money. I have a bunch of piping but nothing that will work well enough, so setting anything running now will just be, at best, a waste of time. At worst it will all go horribly wrong and, knowing my luck, will set fire to the garden and drown us all. (No… Don’t over think that.)

I’m hoping to have it up an running by spring time. What will I put in there? I dunno… At least one tomato plant for sure, maybe some lettuce, spring onions, perhaps a pepper plant? I’m also thinking of some strawberries… Not sure if they would work though. No aquaponics site I have been to lists it as a possibility.
Other than that I may try some flowers? Almost any smaller temperate climate, flowering plant will be happy in there, I think.

We shall see.

4 thoughts on “Setting Up The Aquaponics

  1. A lot of thanks for your own work on this web
    page. My mum delights in participating in investigation and it is obvious why.
    My partner and i hear all regarding the dynamic means you produce both useful and interesting tricks by means of
    the blog and even inspire participation from visitors on that area of interest so our own girl is actually becoming educated a lot.
    Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year.
    Your carrying out a glorious job.

    1. Thank you!
      I do a lot of small project work to see what works. More often than not it fails… But I learn from it all, even if it’s simply “don’t do this again!”

Leave a Reply

