Gardening · General · GYO

Unintentional B&Q Haul

This morning me and the missus went to B&Q for a piece of wood for my new hobby and a bit of a mooch, mainly just to get out of the house for a bit.

My haul was :-

  • One Piece of wood for my new hobby. (£1)
  • 5 x Lavender plants (£1 each)
  • 1 x Hebe (£1)
  • 1 x Thyme (50p)
  • 1 x 2kg bag of Charlotte seed potatoes (£4)

Gross price – £23.90
I spent – £11.90

So not a bad haul at all!

If anyone is in the Wakefield/Leeds area the B&Q at J32 is selling off a fair few plants, cheap. I would have gotten more plants only I don’t have anywhere to put them!

I’m planning on putting the Lavender down by the side of the path. I may need to bulk the soil up around that area as it does have a small slope coming from the gate down to the house. It’s a drop of about 6 inches or so.

Not sure if I should simply cut a line (The yellow line) and lift that area with a couple of pieces of wood and then flatten the bit next to it and use the soil to bulk up the raised bit.

The other choice is that I place the plants like the image to the right. The blue dot is the Thyme, by the way.
The open area I could fill with bedding plants, or maybe some carpet plants like Aubretia or Allysum.

My issue here is that I would need to cut out the whole V area and top it up to level it all off. This will require me buying some soil. Not sure I want to spend money on that if I can avoid it.

One thought on “Unintentional B&Q Haul

Leave a Reply

