Gardening · General

Turn It Over And Start Again

This morning, even though most of my body was aching from some hard work yesterday I decided to turn over my veg plot from earlier this year.
In the main I just removed what was left of the Squash plants. I also pulled up the last of the spring onions, that were more like normal onions now! I also gave it a quick weeding and then turned it all over.

I Managed to collect 4 mini squash, about 10 spring onions (REALLY strong smell from them, so nice!) and the standard amount of broken glass. B-(

I also found yet more Allium bulbs. This was two clumps I dug up. These have been moved to another area. I didn’t want them in this bed because they simply don’t get enough light and the blooms are getting smaller and smaller each year.

This is how it looks now. It’s very rough but that’s fine. I’m going to leave it for a while to sit. This seemed to work very well last year as it seems to kill off a lot of the weed roots I missed.
In a couple of weeks or so, if it hasn’t frozen by then, I will dig it over again. The soil seems to be still good, the soil was very heavily full of big, fat worms. Also a fair few woodlice and earwigs. I thought it was a little late in the year for them but there they were!

The only problem is that an already sore body is now REALLY sore! It will be a hot bath for me tonight!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Turn It Over And Start Again

  1. We used to go to all the trouble of turning our beds. They I found out I was actually bringing up more weeds – eeek. So the next step we just concentrated more on extracting the weeds. This was also time consuming, but easier. Now we are working under the “Weedless” gardening methods. The concept is great! They (writers/researchers of this idea) put forth the thought that came from a walk in the woods. This is where the good plants drop leaves or fold over in the winter. They basically drown out the bad weeds. The way we are working on this we needed cardboard. We tried several layers of newspaper – but our weeds are vicious here. We folded down any good plants and grasses (trimmed first if too long) then placed thick cardboard on top..soaked it all in water thoroughly. So far – so good. I am cleaning up the last of our herb garden and prepping like this for next spring. Oh, we also put a mix of good composted soil and our good wood mulch on top of the cardboard – then soaked it again (almost forgot that – hee hee). Gotta tell ya Kal – much MUCH easier on the back! Wish us luck! Good luck on your bed – may it rest for winter and drown out the nasty weeds!

    1. I *WAS* going to go with the idea of something like what you did… WHich is really just a winter mulch?
      Well… I wanted to put hay (or straw?) down and in the spring plant between it.
      In effect I am using the hay as a winter mulch AND as a fertilizer for the spring. It will help keep the soil from freezing solid so when spring rolls around I can get a bit of a head start because the soil is already *not frozen* if maybe even a little warm!
      But I wasn’t able to buy a bale of hay from anywhere. I would have to buy 3 at a time for the HUGE ones and I would only need one. B-(
      But if your plan works then I can replicate it… In fact I already did with the other bed. All I will be doing is putting it down over winter, not through the summer.
      All my weeds are soft and squishy… Not hard growing at all. Brambles tend to keep to the back of the garden and creep in! B-)

  2. Be careful on the hay! We got some “cheap” then found out why. We suffered through the following 3 years of really REALLY bad weeds. Most were a type of picker grass that is almost impossible to kill off here. Maybe it’s a good thing you couldn’t get it?

    1. Maybe it’s the farming methods? Over here I’ve not seen any people come forward with those issues. But then we don’t have the same harsh climate you do so our weeds tend to be less vigorous or tenacious.

  3. Looks good! I love spring onion so much, and it is the perfect time of year for butternut squash. Delicious!

  4. Hope you’ve recovered from your digging?

    I wonder if lack of light is the reason my alliums (flowers) never flourished…. or perhaps they simply got drowned out by the strawberries.

Leave a Reply

