Uncategorized · Work

More Fungi!

I was out doing a job on Tuesday and I found a load more fungi. 3 kinda normal ones and a wierdie!

20161102_085521

First up was a MONSTER patch of fungi. I couldn’t get back far enough to get the whole thing in shot. It whole area was about 6ft wide! I don’t think I have ever seen a patch of fungi that big! Could it be Honey Fungus (Armillaria)? I’m not sure.

These next two were both on the same stump. Does this happen often?

20161102_085521

This one, I believe is Trametes versicolor. I was quite stiff to the touch and broke apart really easy. I have to say that it really does look like its common name of “Turkey Tail”!

 

 

 

20161102_085521
This one was just underneath the previous one, you can see some of it top right of the image. I’m not sure what it is. It could even be the immature fruit of the same  Trametes versicolor. I can’t find it on Google. “White blob fungi” doesn’t bring any decent finds!

The last one was a wonderful find. Such a wierd looking… Erm… Plant? Ok… No.. Fungi are not plants… Micro organism? Lifeform? Thing?

20161102_085521
This, I believe, is Xylaria hypoxylon otherwise known as candlestick fungus or the stag’s horn fungus.

This one had a bit of a smell… But that may have been the moss it was growing amongst, it was hard to tell with the fact that we had kicked up so much detritus.

6 thoughts on “More Fungi!

        1. Yeah… If you don’t know what you are doing to could luck out and just have a nice trip… Or you could end yourself writhing on the floor in pain.
          Not good!

    1. Thank you!

      I have been looking on the net and I found a couple of apps I can use on my phone.
      I tried going on a message board but they were really only about the psychotropic ones.

Leave a Reply

