Gardening · General · Problems

The Winds of Change

Almost literally, really.

If you look at the featured image above you should see that just about all of my plants are leaning. I *think* it’s due to wind… erm… damage? I’m not sure if it’s just that this year has been super blustery or if the new fence that my next door neighbour put up has redirected the wind. Either way it’s a problem I now have to deal with.

20160706_072417

Most of the plants I have in that area are all herbaceous and so are really heavily affected by the wind. With what I am seeing I need to change my garden to help deal with it. I think this is what also caused the Wordless Wednesday I had the other week. Now that was on the other side of the garden… But if the wind is getting funnelled and baffled by the now solid fence then I don’t think I have any way to stop the funnelling. BTW, it used to be just a simple slatted fence with a loose willow thatch roll over the top thus allowing the wind to freely pass through.

All I can do is to put some plants in that won’t be affected by the wind so much and will, in fact, create zones that will be protected and I can use those to plant my more delicate plants that don’t like being battered by the wind.

I’m thinking of a few bushes dotted around. Maybe two on each side? A few choices are the winter flowering Viburnum… or maybe an evergreen Bamboo (Sunk in a pot!) or a vibrant yellow Choisya? If I want to REALLY push the boat out… How about the amazing Garrya ellipticaI’m not sure yet what I want, but they will need to be semi-tall (4ft or so) and have some mass to it. If they are likely to grow taller then I will need to be able to prune them to keep them under control.

This would also be a great excuse to get a red wood Dogwood for it’s amazing winter colour!

If anyone has some suggestion on this I’d love to hear them.

17 thoughts on “The Winds of Change

  1. Pretty much all gardens in the IoW look a bit like that – my rose garden certainly does. For plants that can withstand wind – I love my guelder roses and hydrangeas. Other plants that seem to do well are broom and lavender. Those aren’t tall though.

    1. Broom (I guess you mean Cytisus?) can get up to 5ft… Tall enough for my plans.

      And you can get them in winter types… Which will mean I will also get some winter colour which is something I don’t have at the moment.

    1. Just be sure you plant it in a pot or it will be EVERYWHERE in no time!
      And Bamboo is a wonderful plant if allowed to bloom. Tiny little fronds of flowers.

  2. They aren’t also being heliotropes and leaning toward the sunshine? Seems most of the blooms are also to the left of the plants as pictured. I have quite the wind tunnel here too, so I usually avoid plants that can’t take it.
    And then hubby goes and buys me gladioli…

    1. LOL!
      Yes… Some of it may be heliotropic… But that would only be the turning of the leaves… Not the arching of the branches.

      The other issue is that the Eryngium you can see is not heliotropic… Or rather that flower spike isn’t, the leaves at the bottom may well be. It almost has to be pushed over by the wind.
      I know your feels on the Gladioli. I love them but they HAVE to be kept in a sheltered spot. B-(

      1. I have them in pots. Sigh. So if the bloom (not looking like it this year) I can move them…somewhere…when it gets bad. It seems every year it is worse and worse with the wind, too. Used to only really get bad in October. Now it seems it is constant and super bad in October.

        1. You are on the coast, yes? Surely you should expect winds?

          Apparently larger bushes act as baffles for wind, trees REALLY work but to get the best… erm… Build a wall. B-)
          Ok.. Not the best advice but climate change is a real problem. B-(

          1. No, not on the coast. I wish. I’m directly downwind (east) from the highest local mountain, and the wind goes down through a valley then up again to us…bam. It’s a gorgeous view, but hell on plants! And motorcycles.

            You saw our front wall – tiny. I hate this climate change shite, have you see what the Gulf Stream is doing? Not good, we depend on it for our relatively mild and warm seasons. All of the Isles will be screwed if that bastard moves permanently.

            1. Yeah… The British Isles gets wet weather rather than Sub-Arctic winters because of that stream… Don’t forget that we are the same latitude as Moscow and most of Canada!

                    1. I am a sun seeker 🙂 Himself is white as paper where the freckles stop, so I might have difficulty convincing him to move someplace I would love. He would fryyyyy. But being IT he doesn’t need the outdoors, right?

Leave a Reply

