Gardening · General · wildlife

I had a moment

On the way home from work this morning I had a bit of a moment when I passed this wonderful Hawthorn tree. Because the breeze, gentle as it was, was coming from behind me I didn’t smell anything until I was right beside it and all of a sudden the smell hit me an I was almost overwhelmed by the wonderful heady fragrance.

Most people that have Hawthorn have it as a hedge or bush and as such it never gets a chance to show it’s sheer awesomeness. While the flower is small and rather plain, it is produced in masses. In late spring, mature Hawthorn specimens can be turned almost white with the sheer mass of flowers that can be produced.

I’d get one for my garden but, because they are trees, they can take anything up to 10 years to reach maturity to produce flowers.

Fun fact-ette for you. Many farms here in the UK use Hawthorn as a boundary hedge and some can be centuries old. Strange but true.

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “I had a moment

    1. I’m not sure. I’m going to guess it’s the common Hawthorne (Crataegus monogyna) as it grows so readily here. And it’s on the ground of a school so they won’t have spent much money on it if it was bought.

        1. No. Hawthorne only produces blossom on last years wood, so if people prune it in the autumn then they won’t see any flowers the following spring.
          Hawthorne should be pruned after flowering so that it has time to grow wood the rest of that year.

          Also… Hawthorne is a tree and so takes quite a lot longer than people realise to mature.

  1. I used to have a hawthorn bush. I feel bad in some ways about digging it out but was pleased to find a holly tree growing under it.

Leave a Reply

