Gardening · GYO

Spuds Away!

20160405_100340

Today I wanted to get my potatoes in the ground, so I nipped out to the local garden centre. I picked up 3 bags of compost and some potato fertilizer. 180L for £10… Not bad. I could have got 240 for £14 but I’m on a budget here.
I also saw a pack of 2 rhubarb for sale, but it had no price tag on it… Maybe next time. B-)

So I made up my 6 sacks with about 6″ of compost and added in an ounce of fertilizer in each as per instructions and gave a good mix.

Once the bags were made up it was time to put in the potatoes… Yeah… I seem to have made a slight mistake. 6 bags… 10 tubers. That won’t work. I had to cut 2 potatoes in half to make up the numbers. I don’t think it will make a difference at all… But if it does it will only be small.
So in went the tubers, 2 to a bag, pushed down and covered with about an inch of soil over the top.

Then it came time to place the sacks.
At first I cut a small trench, only an inch or so deep, as wide as the sack and the full length of my bed. I then mounded up the grass clippings and moved soil. The sacks were then placed in the trench, making sure none of the tubers have moved overmuch.
I also rolled down the top of the sack a little so it helps keep the shape better. As the plants grow I can roll the bag up again as needed.
I then pulled the mulch and soil up against the bottom of the sacks to keep them warm and to prevent weeds from pushing up around them.

All I did then was a little watering and we are all done.
I’ll check on them periodically and mound up the plants as they grow with the extra compost.  As far as I am aware I won’t need to put in any more fertilizer as what I have added so far is a slow release.

Now for a nice cup of tea. B-)

7 thoughts on “Spuds Away!

  1. Good luck with your potatoes. Some folks plant them in a compost pile so the roots can go deep, they need lots of dirt, but I suppose yours all stay in the bags. Do they get over 2 feet deep with the mulch? I don’t know anyone who planted them this way.

    1. Thank you!
      I got the idea from someone else. The idea of the trench is that the core roots, where the potatoes form, are kept in the bags but the feeding roots go out through drainage holes in the bottom of the bags into the soil below. When I pull the bags I should get all the potatoes and not as much feeding root.
      The mulch is only to keep weeds down and keep the soil and bags warmish. Nothing more than that.

      Plus I can always dig around underneath if needed. B-)

      1. I remember as a teenager harvesting potatoes from my great uncle’s farm after he had a heart attack. Someone had already loosened the ground and we just kept pulling them out of the dirt and into half bushel baskets. I remember grandma planting a few potato plants in high mounds in the garden, probably so as not to have to dig so far down. So how deep is the dirt in the bags?

        1. I started with 6″. But as the plant grows I will add in more and more soil till it’s about 2ft deep. The bag is actually 28″ deep in total.
          This idea replaces the ‘mounding up’ idea for ground planted potatoes.

Leave a Reply

