Gardening · General · Problems

Winter Jasmine Pruning

You can see my  Winter Jasmine (Jasminum nudiflorum) and to say that it needs pruning is a bit of an understatement. I hasn’t flowered well at all since I got it and started training it over my fence. My neighbour thought it was because it has never been pruned, or possibly pruned at the wrong time? But the flowering is all done now and, according to the RHS, this is the best time to do it.

A quote from the RHS page… “For both summer and winter jasmine, cut back flowered stems to a strong sideshoot lower down; thin out crowded, crossing or misplaced branches and remove weak or thin stems.”

20160322_094332

 

Well… Not sure how to apply that to my specimen. It’s LITTERED with crossed branches and misplaced stems make up about 80% of the damn thing! But barely a weak stem to be found. The worst part is below.

20160322_094452

Another quote… “Both types of jasmine tolerate hard pruning and renovation. If the plant has outgrown its allotted space, cut back hard to within 60cm (2ft) of the base. Re-growth will be vigorous, so select strong shoots for training into the new framework, and remove unwanted shoots. The plant will take two or three years to start flowering again.”

That, while possible, seems a little too much like ‘Nuke it from orbit‘ for me so maybe stripping it back to main stems only so I get to keep the framework. But, I get almost complete new growth along the fence. I would still like to have flowers next year.

So if I clip it back to any main stems I should still get some fresh growth this year and, with luck, a half decent flowering later on.

This is going to be one of those “Oh God, what have I done?!” moments… I can just see it now.

7 thoughts on “Winter Jasmine Pruning

  1. Buck up buddy and do what we do – beat it up! We tried the pamper it gently method and everything died – so, time to be hard! Beat it up and it flourished well! Our farm motto is grow or die and it works. Good luck! Be Brave! LOL

    1. HAHAHA!!! That’s probably more true than you know.
      I think I will take it all back to main stems and maybe even prune those back a little, just to shape it.

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

