Gardening · Pond

Pond woes

Normally after about October, maybe November, when the temperatures drop, I stop clearing out the pond and the filter. Normally all it does in the winter is keep the water oxygenated and keep the bacteria alive. Actually filtering the algae and crud is not needed. This year has not been the same.

Over Christmas I have been thinking that I may well need to clean out the filter again. I’m not feeding the fish, not even lighter wheatgerm foods, but leaves are still falling in and after a quick look the other day I noticed that algae and crud is still building up in the medium. *sigh*

But it’s raining… Again… And it’s slated to rain for at least the next week so I may have to go out in my wetsuit. This also means that I won’t be able to put my arm in the water, which means no clearing out fallen leaves. I really need to get a long handled net one of these days! B-)

Monday morning there was a break in the weather and, although not warm, it wasn’t pissing it down, so out I went.

I turned the stop key and unplugged the pump. Major note here, people. If you have a gravity return filter you REALLY need to install either a one way valve or a manual stopper. This way if the electric goes off the water doesn’t flow back out of the filter and into your pond taking all the crap with it.
I have a stopper because I have yet to find one way valve big enough to fit my pipe that doesn’t hinder flow.

Look at the state of that medium and water. That should be fairly clear at this time of year. Any rubbish pulled in will be minimal.

Not as much sludge at the bottom as I had feared, although the medium still had a lot caught up in it.

So with a quick rinse and squeeze of the medium it goes back into the filter box. (Don’t forget to use the old filter water to rinse your medium out, you want the good bacteria to stay in the medium. Don’t use fresh or hot water at all.)

20160104_092437

I turned the pump back on and opened the isolator (Pump first. Not the other way around!) and checked that I didn’t have any blockages and that the water flowed right. Then, with lid and the slate going back on top, we are done.

With luck I won’t have to look at this now till March/April… But I’m expecting to be back out here in a month unless the temps actually drop.

One thing I did note though is that my water hyacinth is still alive. This is usually the first thing to die off.

Also. Don’t forget that the filter water makes a good general fertilizer. Ok… Not really needed in the wet months of winter, but still a fact to remember!

22 thoughts on “Pond woes

    1. Not in my big pond. The fish always eat them quickly. The Koi in there can eat a fair whack of food when it wants to!

      I do get them in my Pond-in-a-pot though. I may also get some in that smaller top bit as there are no fish in there… But I didn’t see any last year as I only made it late on.

  1. According to the weather app on my phone we might have some dry days next week. ‘Only’ three days of rain in the next seven which will be ace if it comes true 😀

  2. Just the one ~8″ Koi. But another 8 6″+ goldfish. They are only 2 (3?) years old. My last lot I had (2x 12″+ Koi and a couple of goldfish) got eaten by a passing Heron. *rage!*

  3. Very nice and cool pond! My home certainly needs one, cuz we just put our “water plants” into a large plastic bucket that collects rain water. They’re thriving, but it would sure look better if it was a real pond. Good job!

    1. Thank you!
      I think every house should have some kind of water feature… Ponds are great but not very good for small kids.

      That was why I originally started with a Pond-In-A-Pot.

      Now all I want is some frog spawn. B-(

      1. Frog spawn? Wuz dat?
        Are frogs supposed to be good for ponds? Because there’s 2 big fat toads that are always bathing in our plastic water container.

        1. Yes… Frogs are EPIC for a pond. Not only that but they are VERY welcome in a garden. They eat a SHED-LOAD of slugs and snails for you.

          And frog spawn is how you get baby frogs. Looks like jelly bubbles on the water surface.

          1. Oooh… But boy, them toads outside are so fat and ugly, though. Haha! Now that I know they’re beneficial for my garden, I shall no longer spray hose water to get ’em outta my plastic makeshift pond. Thanks for lettin’ me know!

Leave a Reply

