Houseplants

Timelapse photography

Another tiny post.

Over the past couple of days I have been trying to do a bit of time lapse photography, so this plant has been sat off to one side out of direct sunlight but still in indirect light. Yesterday, when I moved it back onto the window I noticed that it had all kind of flopped to one side.

Now that I felt I had a better grip just how to do a time lapse I decided to have a look at what a difference a day would make to the plant.

Well! There isn’t much happening until about midday. But that’s when it all starts. It’s slow at first but when it gets to about 3pm (about the 50 second mark), when the sun is getting ready to set, it almost races to move!

BTW… Yes, that’s our cat that appears top right, on the chair!
I was a little worried she would photobomb the whole thing by jumping up on the windowsill right in front of the camera! >.<

I know the light isn’t so good. I’m not sure how to fix it. I’ll have to work on that.

2 thoughts on “Timelapse photography

  1. I love these time-lapse videos – thanks for sharing! Couldn’t get over the speed at which that plant was moving near the end – how on earth do we not catch such wonders of nature with the naked eye??

    1. I know what you mean. It was actually the wife that noticed how one plant had changed over the day.
      I suppose when you don’t spend any real time looking directly at it the mind kinda fills in that ‘Was like that already’.
      But it was a real shock to me too!

Leave a Reply

