Gardening · General · Problems

Windy clear up

20151206_101742
Go home, bins. You’re drunk!

Quick note on the garden. This morning I went out to check up on any damage after the winds. All in all its not been that bad. The bins have been blown over…

20151206_102252
Not you, too!

My bird table was also blown over. The platform has been damaged and is a little loose, I may be able to secure it again though.

Other than that we seem to have gotten away lightly. There was quite a bit of general rubbish/litter to pick up, all wind blown and a lot of leaf detritus, but such is the life of a gardener with plants that have leaves!

The greenhouse is just getting more battered and is disintegrating. I didn’t bother taking a pic as its just depressing, but it’s going soon, so no point moaning about it.

The only other problem was pots being blown over. Quite a few around the garden. Only one seems to have any damage done, however. It’s a plant I was trying to get going from last year, to be honest I don’t even recall what it was in the pot. But it’s now spread all over the grass, so the fact that I can’t even recall what it was means I won’t shed any tears over it. It might have been an Ilex?.. I dunno.

20151206_110231
None of my *ahem* important plants are damaged and the fence, which I am genuinely shocked about, is still standing. Considering I saw it being erected and I know how deep the supports aren’t. Well… Colour me shocked!
As you can see, there is a little damage at the back from where the willow screening wasn’t properly reattached to the new fence, but seeing that it was actually done when the fence was put up I can’t blame the wind. It just looks like the wind did it. But I could still blame it if you like? B-)

So that’s it. The wind is now easing off and all seems well.

Leave a Reply

