Gardening

Why do I do it?

It’s 6:30 am on a chilly autumnal Saturday morning. Why am I out in the garden? I should be back in my warm bed but I’m not.

Now, I don’t think I’m suffering an addiction here, it’s not like I didn’t go out without a cup of tea in my hand or anyth…..Oh… *ahem* Yeah… Moving on. B-)

The truth is that I like being outside. I work with a bunch of guys that also prefer to be out in the sun. not a single one of them likes being stuck inside. But it’s not just that, it’s also that I like watching things change, to see the insects creeping and buzzing about the place. I don’t begrudge others being afraid or unsettled by nature at times. Even now it often catches me out with some nightmare fuel! Click if you are feeling brave!  And pollen can make some peoples life a misery. But that isn’t me.

But on the point of bad weather… Yeah… I can sit inside for that. When it’s cold and raining I will happily avoid it. The cold I can stand, snow I can stand but rain is another beast. I’m daft, not stupid!

TL;DR – Being in an office would destroy me. I like physical work where I can see results.

8 thoughts on “Why do I do it?

    1. I have no idea. Someone thought it was the tail of an earwig. Someone else thought it was a beetle of some kind. I just thought it was scary and left it alone!

      I can do inside work. But I have to be doing physical things. I can’t be sat down for long. I’d get antsy.

      1. I’m in construction, there is no sitting around in that industry. Not paid by the hour either, all production. That’s why I need to have more energy, have to keep up with all the young folk. 😉

        1. Better to work right than fast I always find. Let the kids run around like headless chickens. O.<

          But to get more energy… I found that doing yoga helped me immensely. Just having more flexibility and good breathing can help. Or it did for me anyway.

          1. LOL! I am a perfectionist when it comes to work. That’s how to stay in business. I took yoga as a child and enjoyed it. It’s just hard to motivate myself now and when I get home I am wiped! But sitting around in the evening isn’t going to do me any good.

            1. I know that feeling. I get home and I have zero drive to do anything other than what I need to! Water my plants, check for any issues in the garden and that’s about it.

              After that it’s eat tea, do my catch-up on stuff and then grab a shower and bed!

              Ah… My life in the fast lane! B-)

Leave a Reply

