General

A Photo a Week Challenge: Fill the Frame

This post is in response to something I read yesterday and decided to have a go at.

I was reading a blog article on Susan Rushton’s blog (Go read, it’s worth it!) and her post was about a photo challenge on this blog. This week it’s about ‘Filling the frame’. Now I’m the first to admit that my photography skills are not that good, but I have been trying to learn as I go and I think I have improved somewhat.

So this morning I was in the garden and I saw something that I thought would be great as an entry in the challenge. I must have taken about 20 shots before my daughter stepped in and gave me a couple of hints on how to do it better.

So this is my entry.

20150829_113731

It’s a Foxglove (Digitalis) in its first year. They don’t flower in their first year so you get this tight rosette idea. Also I found the gradient of shading fascinating.

I’d also like to point out that this image was not edited at all. I didn’t even crop it! I think this was also a test of my bravery too!

I don’t know if I will be doing this every week. I guess I will only post if I have something I feel is worth it. Although I may have to switch to my old phone to take more pics. It has a MUCH better camera!

So thank you to both Susan for introducing the challenge to me and to Nancy Merrill for actually posting it!

7 thoughts on “A Photo a Week Challenge: Fill the Frame

    1. Up until about 3 years ago if I didn’t have a flower in my garden I still would have been happy.
      I’m more of a foliage kind of guy, as weird as this may sound.

Leave a Reply

