Problems

I don’t know what I did wrong

I seem to have done something wrong, but I don’t know what it is.

If you follow my twitter at all you may recall that back in early July I found a bunch of tomato plants and possibly a cucumber plant in my garden. no idea at all where they came from.

My tomato plants

I rescued them and potted them up. Now I have had them in my greenhouse for about a month and now they are all long and lanky. I have no idea what I did wrong… Watered well, no fertiliser yet, they only just now put out the first trusses, and they have had plenty of light and warmth… Well, they are in my greenhouse!

Google tells me it’s not enough light… I have a southern aspect and there is nothing blocking the light in my greenhouse. So what do I do? ARGH!
The only possible issue is that because they are self seeded from an unknown source I have no idea what variety it is. It could be that its meant to be lanky? (Not likely)

A possible cucumber plant

This is the cucumber plant. luscious leaves and not long and lanky… In the same greenhouse. I just don’t get it!

Oh well… Time to wait and see.

4 thoughts on “I don’t know what I did wrong

    1. No. And the plastic sheeting I made it out of isn’t uv corrected either.
      The guys at work keep saying its because it’s a selfseed… It could just be a strange variety.
      Either that or I am feeding it… Which in not.

      1. We made our own greenhouse too! It’s not pretty, and the plastic wasn’t quite long enough, so we had to tape them together. One day we will re-do it. Our old neighbour gave us a green uv screen for the top that he brought from South Africa. The year we put it on we noticed the seeds started twice as fast, the plants grew bigger and had less problems. We want to get more to cover the outdoor garden too.
        We have a self-seed tomato plant too. Not doing as well as the rest. You’re probably right.

Leave a Reply

