Houseplants

A blast from my past

Quite a few years ago I used to collect cacti and succulents. I didn’t have a HUGE amount… But I had a few and I loved them. I had a couple of Opuntia, a small mix of a few Echinopsis and a few others. Now I only have a quickly-getting-out-of-control Cephalocereus. I also had a couple of succulents. A miniature Jade Money tree, a normal Jade money tree and a single Howarthia. The last two I still have.

The reason they had to go was a mix of money, space and a baby on the way… Not many Cacti are baby or toddler friendly! We also moved out of the flat we had into a house and some of the plants just couldn’t come with us. Now that the minion is all grown up I don’t have to worry about her hurting herself. Well… I do but when she does anything that daft now I can just laugh at her! So I am thinking about it again.

Aloe polyphylla
Aloe Polyphylla

Not only that but my wife recently saw a Tumblr post with a very nice Aloe polyphylla and she asked if we could grow one. Well… Yes, yes we can! Not only that but I would love to get a few of the other amazing succulents that are out there in the world!

Crassula capitella thyrsiflora

I would like to show you Crassula! This is a family of succulents that simply amazes me. The shapes are beautiful and the variation is incredible. It goes from the easily recognisable Jade Money tree to this, to this and thisAmazing! It’s the visual aspect that got me into Cacti and Succulents in the first place all those many (many!) years ago and it’s now the wife’s hook from that same visual fascination that may get me back into it.

This time though it’s not going to be so easy. The way I am going for the Aloe Polyphylla is by seed. Some of these succulents are not only difficult to raise but they can also be expensive! Getting hold of some of these plants is very difficult too here in the UK. If you want one you will have to pay for it. being someone on a tight budget I hope to raise them from seed and maybe sell or give away a few to others. Spread the love, people!

I will also need to buy a few pieces of kit to get me going if I do grow some… A small gentle mister,a tall indoor propagator, some cacti specific compost (They like a more gritty/sandy medium) and a small bag of vermiculite.

Oh…. And the best thing? I can do this in the wintertime as they will all be held indoors!

Expect blog posts on this… And lots of flaily arms when things happen!

9 thoughts on “A blast from my past

  1. I have never seen anything like this before. I have grown regular Aloe Vera but nothing with geometric shapes like this. I am fascinated. My arms would be all flaily too! Now I have to see if I can find them in Canada. Thanks. Best of luck with yours.

    1. Thanks!
      I just went through eBay for mine and got they from outside of the country. 20 seeds for4 £4… Not cheap! And there is no guarantee of germination.

        1. Nonsense, daaaahlink! Simply channel your inner Zsa Zsa Gabor and flick your feather boa over your shoulder, wave your arm theatrically and flounce away.

          It’s easy, no? B-D

Leave a Reply

