Gardening

The Story of Lupins

I have always liked Lupins. I’m not sure why… maybe its the simple contrast of colours, maybe its the way they attract bees and other insects. It matters not… I like them.

Lupins flowering in Summer 2015

The pic above is this years show of my Lupins. A mix of colours including Pink, Blue, purple and, amazingly, White! This is the first time I have ever seen a white Lupin flower. So very strange.

The other thing I don’t get is that last year I only had blue and purple. The other amazing thing is that they all came from the same plant! That plant was a deep, rich blue btw… If that makes any difference? 

Over the last 3 years I’ve had the plants and not had the same colour twice. Now I could have expected shades of colour over years, but not a different colour altogether! The plants are not all new plants, they are all the same clumps of growth.. I guess they are on their 2nd year (They are Biennial afterall).

I wonder if the colours of next years flowers are affected by the pollination of this years flowers? And another question… Can I dare hope for more of the white flowers? These are really awesome!

Leave a Reply

