Problems

Gardening with neighbours who don’t

Living where I do often makes it difficult to keep on top of the biggest problem all gardeners suffer. Weeds.

My neighbours generally don’t care so much about how their gardens look. I live in a tiny cul-de-sac in a tiny ex-mining village that is now a council estate. Of the 6 houses around me 3 don’t even cut their grass until the council writes them letters reminding them that they are duty-bound to keep their gardens generally tidy.

My neighbours garden. Never having been touched by human hand.

One neighbour does the bare minimum and ONLY cuts their grass once a month. Only me and a retired chap actually try to upkeep a nice garden. His is actually much nicer than mine because he has money to spend on it, but that is another issue. *smile*

Weeds are an ongoing problem in all but the most epically constructed garden. Seeds are blown in by the wind, carried in by birds and other animals and also walked in on the treads of our boots. I can live with that because it is natural and very little can be done about it. But what really gets me is that my neighbours will make no effort to control weeds that end up growing through the fence into my garden or having a grassy area that becomes a tornado of white Dandelion clocks at the end of the summertime.

Last year I had an ongoing issue with my next door neighbour with stinging nettles and Brambles. I wouldn’t mind so much if they were growing the brambles for fruit, they were just there because they couldn’t be bothered to get rid of them.

This year, already, I can see Cleavers being an issue. They are growing steadily up the fence between us on her side. Any that come through I will snip or pull up, but on her side it’s already making headway.

I don’t want to make a huge fuss… But it’s definitely frustrating.

Leave a Reply

