General

Judas trees a-germinatin’!

So, this has been a good week for me. Last Monday I noticed that one of my Judas tree (Cercis siliquastrum) seeds that I had on my windowsill had possibly germinated. A bit early in jumping for joy yet and I didn’t want to disturb them too much by opening it up to have a proper check.
I had the seeds germination in a piece of moist kitchen paper folded, with the seeds inside, in a ziplock bag. so getting it out and unfolding may have possibly damaged such tender infant growth. So, like any good gardener I held off and waited… I will admit that I very nearly lost that fight to not open it!

So come this Monday and I look again and I notice that the possible germinated seed is now a definite germinated seed, not only that but there are new 2 more!
Here is my dilemma though, there is a fine mould of some sort growing on some of the seeds. Now I don’t want to lose what I have so I kinda panic. I want them to do well, but I don’t want to lose them to any kind of mould after getting so far… So its time for action!

This morning I took out the paper towel with seeds and this is what I find.

Germinated Judas tree seedlings.

3 good germinated seeds! Awesome!
I have to admit that I was almost dancing around the kitchen when I saw them lying there. Yeah, I get it… I’m pathetic, I can live with that. B-)

So I decide that I will pot them up now. So the 3 seedlings, plus another 3 that were clean of any mould spores and one that looked like it had split its case, were put into pots.

Judas tree seedlings being planted on.

Now when I was looking up what to do on the interwebs I found a few that suggested putting them in loose sand. Now I don’t have access to any sand other than sand with salt in it for gritting paths, so I used a potting compost. I hope it won’t make too much of an issue.

The pots were then put into a loose propagator and placed in my greenhouse where I can keep an eye on them. If I get no joy out of them in a couple of weeks I will think about bringing them indoors.

20150318_082037

I have kept the remaining seeds on the windowsill. I would still like to get some more to germinate if I can, while I am happy now with what I have I know a couple of the guys at work would love to trade something for the trees.

Leave a Reply

