General

Cleaning up perennials.

One of the bigger problems I have is cleaning up after the winter and making ready for the spring push of growth.

Last year I got 4 Perennial Geraniums as rescues from work. I planted them up and they came back and did really well. But now spring time had come back around and the plants are pushing again. Three of them are doing fine but one of the Geraniums has a gap in the middle now. I can only hope that the plant will fill out and plug the gap as new growth comes through.

I kinda have the same issue with a couple of my Heuchera. I had a great show last year but I now need to clean out the old growth and let the plant flourish.

Here is my problem… I’m not sure how to do it.
I have read a few websites and looking at YouTube vids for the last few hours. I tend to learn quicker from actually seeing someone do something rather than have it described to me, even with excellent photos.

So… With a little info in my head and a good idea of what I’m going to do I’m off outside to clean up a little and see what’s what.

Here are a few Before shots… 1. 2. 3.

A couple of after shots. 1. 2.
I gave up trying to work out how to clean up the Perennial Geranium and just brushed off the excess dead stalks. In all there ended up being not much of a change.

Leave a Reply

